Sunburst 13.1: H3 (Heat, Humidity, & Hallelujah Hill)

Runners are a generous bunch. We share stories about epic races and digestive issues. If someone is struggling, we provide words of encouragement. Or you have a fabulous friend with a free entry to Sunburst Half that she’s not going to use. Which in turn, she gifted to me. Of course, with my running not being as on point as it was before, I had to be realistic about my expectations. And given that this race wasn’t on my schedule, I didn’t get as many long runs in as I would have otherwise.

My last half in Naperville didn’t go as I planned. While I finished within my desired time, my pacing was very inconsistent. I felt like a train hit me afterwards. For three days I couldn’t shake the exhaustion. This time, I needed to be more consist with my pace, even if it meant going slower and paying more attention to my body.

Celebrating Pride Month at The Lauber Restaurant

Friday was my daughters last day of school. We drove to South Bend and had dinner. I got to packet pick up and saw my friend Courtney, the race director for the Sunburst race series. Back at the hotel, we watched the original Jurassic Park. Who doesn’t love the scene when the dinosaur chomps the guy on the port a potty?

Race morning dawned and I drove to the start. Previously, the race began downtown and ended at the famed Notre Dame Stadium. This year, it started and ended at the convention center. It was already 67 degrees at 6:30am. I ditched my tank top at the hotel and wore just a sports bra. I had no shame in letting it all hang out if it meant keeping cool. Knowing that the temperatures were going to be warm, I started hydrating the day before. I limited my coffee intake and focused on my water and electrolyte mix.

Sunrise over St. Joe River.

We sardined into the start corral, and the race began at 7:15. It started along the St. Joseph River through a residential area. While there was no cloud cover, the trees provided shade. The route led us through town into Battell Park in Mishawaka. They had their water fountains turned on for the season, hooray! I felt good and my splits were consistent. We wound through the park and back out to the residential roads again.

Mile 7 started my slow down. I started taking breaks between 30 seconds to one minute every few minutes. It helped me to appreciate the walk and I felt like I had more energy once I resumed running. The water stations were every mile or so, and became more frequent with the increased distance. I drank water and poured some over my head to keep me cool. Some residents put out their sprinklers, and we were able to run under them like kids on a hot summer day.

There were plenty of spectators and support for the race. Including a woman dressed like a cow handing out water and a bagpiper around mile 9. If the bovine and the bagpiper could withstand the humid temperatures with their activities, so could I. The was no need to complain when they were exerting effort to keep us going.

Nor was there time to complain. Because I knew what was coming: Hallelujah Hill. Even though we started and finished in different locations this year, I knew this infamous hill wasn’t eliminated. Rather than place the hill at say, mile two or four, Sunburst feels the need for us to tackle it at mile 11.5. I dug in, alternating between walking and running the steep incline. I was grateful to have a water stop at the top of the mountain.

⛰️Hallelujah Hill. Object in the photo is hillier than it appears. ⛰️

The descent on the other side of Hallelujah Hill brought us back to where we started. I was glad to see the finish line on the opposite side of the start. I crossed over in 2:25; a far cry from my usual half marathon time. Yet I was happy to be finished, knowing that I stayed consistent, even if it was slower than the norm. I grabbed a popsicle from a volunteer and enjoyed every bite of its icy sweet taste.

Chicago Marathon is four short months away. There’s still much work to be done. Thanks for coming on my journey with me. Run happy, friends. 🏃‍♀️🏃🏻👟♥️

With race director Courtney. We love running, writing, and all things Golden Girls.
I’m not a huge fan of Frappuccinos, but this one hit the spot. And I got a new mug for my “Been There” mug collection.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started